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Glossary

A

Account

A business or department that controls a marketing budget. Small companies might use a single account to manage campaigns; larger companies might require several accounts to represent different divisions.

Account Daily Spending Limit

Maximum amount you want to spend each day. You may be charged up to 10% above your account daily spending limit.

Account ID

The unique identification number for an account

Account Status

Indicates whether your account is on or off. If the account is off, your ads should not be displayed.

Ad

The marketing message displayed to prospective customers. An ad contains a title, description, and URL.

Ad Group

A set of ads and related keywords within a campaign. The ads can be displayed to prospective customers searching for or viewing content related to your keywords and/or ads. You can apply a default ad group bid to all keywords in an ad group or set custom bids for individual keywords.

Ad Group Bid

Default bid you set to apply to keywords in an ad group. You can override the ad group bid for a keyword by setting a custom keyword bid.

Ad Group Status

Indicates whether an ad group is active, inactive, or paused.

Ad Name

Name that uniquely identifies an ad in a given ad group.

Ad Preview

A view of the title, description and URL of an ad as it may appear when displayed.

Ad Status

Indicator that shows whether your ad's display status is active, inactive, or paused. If the ad status is paused or inactive, your ad is not displayed.

Ad Testing

A feature that allows you to test multiple ads to determine which one performs best. Adding more than one ad to an ad group will allow you to take advantage of ad testing.

Advanced Match ID

Text you supply to identify Sponsored Search advanced match type clicks. The Advanced Match ID appears in your web logs.

Advanced Match Type

An option within Sponsored Search that specifies how search terms are matched to ads. Ads that use the advanced match type are displayed for a broader range of searches relevant to your keywords, titles, descriptions and/or web content. By default, all ads are set to the advanced match type.

Alert

A notification regarding your account. You can sign in to your account to view alerts or you can receive alerts in email.

Analytics

A feature that allows you to understand a wide range of activity related to your website and your online marketing activities. Yahoo! offers two analytics options. The "conversions only" option allows you to track conversions on your site generated from your Sponsored Search or Content Match ads. The full analytics option allows you to understand a full range of behavior, including how customers found your site, their browsing activity once they landed on your site, and which online marketing activities (from Yahoo! as well as other providers) are performing best. Using analytics provides you with information to help optimize your Sponsored Search and Content Match campaigns, as well as your other online marketing activities, to best meet your business goals.

Assists

The number of times a keyword or ad contributed to a conversion that was credited to another keyword or marketing activity. Assists must occur within 45 days of the conversion event to be recorded. Within any 45 day period, a conversion event can have a maximum of 30 assists recorded.

Avg. CPC

Average cost per click. The average price you paid each time your ad was clicked.

Avg. Position or Avg. Rank

The average position of your ad relative to other ads within the Sponsored Search results.

B

Bid

The maximum amount that you are willing to pay for a click.

Bid Limit

When campaign optimization is turned on, the bid limit defines the maximum amount that you are willing to pay for a click.

Blocked Continents

Continents from which you do not want traffic. You may block traffic from any continent except the one that corresponds to the market for your account.

Blocked Domains

Domains or subsections of domains on which you have blocked your Sponsored Search and Content Match ads from appearing.

Browser

A prospective customer that navigates beyond the landing page.

C

Campaign

A campaign contains one or more ad groups sharing the same budget, schedule and geo-targeting criteria. A campaign is typically created to support a particular marketing goal.

Campaign Description

Any notes you wish to record for the campaign, such as its purpose or goals.

Campaign Monthly Budget

The amount of money you want to spend each month (a rolling 30-day period) for a specific campaign. You may be charged up to 10% above your campaign monthly budget.

Campaign Optimization

A feature that automatically manages campaigns for you to help maximize the effectiveness of your spending, based on guidelines you provide. Campaign optimization saves you time while helping you achieve your business objectives.

Campaign Status

Indicator of your campaign's availability. If the campaign status is active, your campaign is running. A campaign may be active, paused, scheduled, incomplete, deleted, or expired.

Channel

A provider of one or more marketing services. For instance, Yahoo! is a marketing channel with a number of marketing services, including Sponsored Search and Content Match.

City and Surrounding Area

A geo-targeting option for displaying ads within and related to a city and its neighboring towns. Please note that some cities and their surrounding areas span multiple states.

Clicks

The action that occurs when an ad is selected.

Clicks Per Ad Group Bid

The estimated number of clicks you may receive for an ad group given a specific ad group bid. This estimate is calculated based on historical data and is not a guarantee. Keywords in the ad group with custom keyword bids are not included.

Click-Through Rate (CTR)

The number of clicks received divided by the number of impressions generated. Example: An ad that is displayed 100 times and receives 25 clicks has a click-through rate of 0.25.

Content Match™

A pay-per-click campaign tactic that uses contextual matching technology. Content Match selects ads for display on web sites throughout the Yahoo! partner distribution network. The ads include links to your site, and click charges accrue only when your ad is clicked. With Content Match, your ad may be selected to display based on your keyword, title, description and URL.

Content Match Bid (CM Bid)

Bid that applies to all ads distributed via Content Match.

Content Match ID

Text you supply to identify Content Match clicks. The Content Match ID appears in your web logs.

Conversions

The completion of an action that you value, such as a purchase, registration, or sign-up.

Conversions Only

An option that allows you to track conversions and revenue on your site generated from your Sponsored Search and Content Match ads.

Conversion Tag

A script in the source code of a page that records a completed transaction. Typically, a Conversion Tag is placed on a Thank You or Confirmation page. The Conversion Tag can include the amount of the transaction.

Cost-Per-Acquisition (CPA)

The cost of acquiring a conversion. The CPA is calculated as the total cost of online marketing activities divided by the number of conversions.

Cost Per Click (CPC)

The cost of advertising divided by the number of clicks.

Custom Bid

A bid that can be set at the keyword level to override a default ad group bid. For example, if you set your default ad group bid to $.50, you may set a custom bid for one or more keywords within that ad group to override the default. Custom bids can only be set for Sponsored Search keywords.

D

Days Between Conversions

The number of days that it takes for a customer to convert again.

Days to Deletion

The number of days until a file will be deleted.

Days to First Conversions

The number of days that it takes for a lead to become a first time customer.

Default Bid

A bid set at the ad group level that is applied to all keywords in that ad group, unless a custom keyword bid is specified. For example, if you set a default bid of $.50 at the ad group level, all keywords using the default bid within that ad group will have bids set at $.50.

Description

In an ad, the concise summary of the products or services you wish to advertise. For best results, an ad's description should correspond to its related keywords.

Destination URL

The Web address to which the browser is directed when an ad is clicked.

Display Rate (%)

The number of times an ad was displayed relative to the other ads in the ad group. Example: If four ads in an ad group are rotated equally, each ad has a display rate of 25%.

Display URL

The URL displayed in an ad. If the destination URL is long, you can include a shorter display URL. Example: An ad with destination URL www.example.com/s_id=0 could have a display URL of www.example.com.

DMA®

Designated Market Area. DMA® is a registered service mark of Nielsen Media Research, Inc., and is used pursuant to a license from Nielsen Media Research, Inc., all rights reserved.

E

Editorial Guidelines

A set of guidelines that give advertisers direction for creating ads that will help provide a quality experience for users on the Yahoo! network. Following the editorial guidelines is required in order for ads to be displayed by Yahoo! Search Marketing.

Editorial Status

The status of a keyword or ad in the editorial review process.

End Date

The date the account daily spending limit was turned off.

Estimated Account Depletion

The estimated number of days remaining before the account balance reaches zero.

Estimated Average Position

An estimate of the position in which your ad will be displayed relative to other ads on the page.

Estimated Clicks

The estimated number of clicks you might receive.

Estimated Monthly Impressions

The estimated number of impressions your ad may receive in a month.

Event Tags

A script in the source code of a page that you use to track visitor behavior that is important to your business.

F

First Conversions

Conversions by first-time customers (i.e., visitors for whom we haven't previously recorded a conversion).

Full Analytics

An option that allows you to track a full range of activity across your site, including how customers found your site, their browsing activity once they landed on your site, and which online marketing activities (from Yahoo! as well as other providers) are performing best.

G

Geo-Targeting

A feature that displays ads within a specific geographic area or to users who express interest in that area. Example: A business that sells real estate in the state of California selects that state as a targeted region. Ads will be displayed to customers located within California, as well as to anyone who searches for relevant terms such as "California Real Estate."

I

Import

A bulk upload of campaigns, ads or keywords into your account using a spreadsheet template.

Impression

The action that occurs when an ad is displayed.

K

Keyword

Word or phrase that relates to the products or services you wish to advertise. When prospective customers look for information related to your keywords, your ads may be displayed

Keyword Bid

A custom bid for the keyword. This bid overrides the default ad group level bid.

Keyword Research Tool

A tool for creating a keyword list and viewing the historical popularity of keywords.

Keyword Status

Indicates whether your keyword is active, inactive, or paused.

L

Lead

A prospective customer that lands on your web site through online marketing tactics, a typed-in URL or a bookmark. A paid lead arrives as a result of paid advertising or search engine placement.

Lead Conversion Rate

The number of conversions divided by the number of leads.

Leads Between Conversions

The number of leads between conversions for repeat customers.

Leads to First Conversion

The number of leads which occur before customers convert (i.e., the analytics tags on your web site record a conversion event). This shows the frequency of customer contact prior to conversion.

Long Description

A detailed summary of the products or services you wish to advertise. It is displayed on partner sites that can accommodate longer descriptions. For best results, the long description should correspond to its related keywords.

M

Market

The country or multi-country region in which you are advertising.

Marketing Activity

Any part of a campaign for which you want to track cost information. Examples include paid search ads, banner ads, and email drop.

Marketing Activity Cost

Amount you currently pay for a marketing activity.

Master Account

A group of one or more accounts that share settings such as time zone, currency, and market.

Master Account Administrator

A user with access to the master account and any related accounts.

Match Type

An option within Sponsored Search that specifies how search terms are matched to ads. Ads that use the standard match type are displayed for exact matches to your keywords, as well as for singular or plural variations and common misspellings. Ads that use the advanced match type are displayed for a broader range of searches relevant to your keywords, titles, descriptions and/or web content. By default, all ads are set to the advanced match type.

Match Type ID

Identifies clicks from various sources, including Sponsored Search standard or advanced match types, or Content Match.

Maximum Bid

The maximum price you are willing to pay when your ad is clicked. You will never be charged more than your maximum bid. The actual cost per click can be lower than your maximum bid because your cost per click is automatically discounted to the lowest amount necessary to maintain your position on the page.

Min. Position

The lowest position you prefer your ad to be displayed on the results page. Please note that this does not guarantee that your ad will not be displayed below this position.

P

Payment Method

The method for funding your account, such as a credit card or PayPal.

PayPal

An online payment service that lets you send money from the funding source you choose, like your credit card or bank account, to a variety of recipients, without sharing your financial information with those recipients.

Prospects

Someone you consider a "serious shopper" for your products, services, information, etc. The prospect event is triggered when a visitor/customer navigates to a page on which you've placed the Prospect tag (e.g., "Add to Shopping Cart", or "Enter Credit Card Information" page).

Prospect Tag

A script in the source code of a page that appears just prior to the completion of a conversion. A prospect tag can be used to identify any drop-off between the conversion step and the pre-conversion step. Example: If customers must review their purchase before completing the transaction, place a prospect tag on the review page to collect data and better understand drop-off behavior.

Q

Quality Index

A relative measure of how relevant an ad is. It is determined by comparing an ad's quality to the quality of other ads displayed at the same time. The quality index is displayed as one to five bars. Ads with more bars have a higher quality and may require a lower bid and/or may receive better placement on the page.

R

Revenue Per Browser

Total revenue divided by the total number of browsers generated by marketing activity.

Revenue Per Conversion

Total revenue divided by the total number of conversions generated by marketing activity.

Revenue Per Lead

Total revenue divided by the total number of leads generated by marketing activity.

Revenue Per Prospect

Total revenue divided by the total number of prospects generated by marketing activity.

ROAS

Return on Ad Spend. The amount of revenue you generated per dollar spent on a specific advertising method. ROAS is calculated as Revenue ÷ Cost of Advertising x 100. Example: A campaign that generated $5,000 in revenue and cost $500 has a ROAS of 1000%.

Roles

The type of access a user has within an account.

S

Search Query

A search request that a user enters into the Search box on Yahoo! or one of our distribution partners.

Search Term

A word or phrase that is entered into a search engine to find information, products, or services online. Advertisers select and bid on keywords that are relevant to their products or services. An ad can appear in search results when people enter a search term related to a keyword.

Share of Available Clicks

An estimate of the clicks you may potentially receive for all keywords in your ad group. The share is estimated using your bids and historical data for your keywords. This is an estimate only and not a guarantee of click volume.

Short Description

In an ad, a concise summary of the products or services you wish to advertise. For best results, the ad's short description should correspond to its related keywords.

Sponsored Search

A distribution tactic that displays your ads on the Yahoo! network for search queries related to your keywords.

Sponsored Search Bid (SS Bid)

The maximum bid for Sponsored Search clicks.

Standard ID

Text you supply to identify Sponsored Search standard match type clicks. The Standard ID appears in your web logs.

Standard Match Type

An option within Sponsored Search that specifies how search terms are matched to ads. Ads that use the standard match type are displayed for exact matches to your keywords, as well as for singular or plural variations and common misspellings.

T

Tactic (Distribution Tactic)

The method used for distributing ads, such as Sponsored Search or Content Match. Sponsored Search displays your ads for related search queries. Content Match displays your ads on content pages containing articles, reviews, news or other information.

Tagging Options

The method used for receiving analytics data. Analytics data can be received using Conversion Only or Full Analytics. Conversion Only provides one tag that tracks conversions on your site generated from your Sponsored Search and Content Match listings. Full Analytics allows multiple tags to track a full range of activity across your site.

Targeted Region

The geographic locations selected for campaign geo-targeting.

Title

The headline for an ad. For best results, include the keyword in the title using the Insert Keyword feature. To attract the attention of potential customers, the title should be short, factual and compelling.

Tracking URL

A URL appended with parameters that provide information about the distribution tactic, keyword, and raw search query used.

U

URL (Uniform Resource Locator)

The web address of a page or file on the Internet.

W

Watch List

A feature of the Dashboard that displays data for the campaigns, ad groups, and keywords you select so that you can monitor their performance and have easy access to their details.

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